Gala Host Committee

a group of celebrities in formalwear
2017 American Portrait Gala honorees and presentors: Glenn Ligon, Gerald H. Friedland M.D., Bill T. Jones, David D. Ho M.D., Art Madeleine K. Albright, Kim Sajet, Rita Moreno, Patrick Ewing, Spike Lee, Robert Redford, Andrea Mitchell / Photo by BFA

You are invited to join the

American Portrait Gala Host Committee


Sunday, November 17, 2019

Host Committee Tickets

$5,000 for two tickets

Gifts can be pledged now and fulfilled any time before November 17, 2019.

Benefits include;

Preferred seating
Recognition on the Gala invitation and program
Inclusion in Smithsonian Annual Report
Invitations to VIP Host Committee events
(see below for events)

Complimentary Portrait Circle membership
includes invitations to private tours and special events

Host Committee VIP Event

October 25, 2019

VIP Reception & Exhibition Opening for

The Outwin 2019: American Portraiture Today

One of the biggest exhibition openings at the Portrait Gallery in 2019, The Outwin reception brings together top contemporary portrait artists to celebrate the winners and finalists of our triennial portrait competition and the resulting exhibition. The Gala Host Committee enjoys a private reception with the winners of the prestigious Outwin Boochever Portrait Competition before mixing and mingling with all the artists at the opening reception. Last competition’s winner was Amy Sherald, who went on to paint Michelle Obama’s iconic portrait for the Portrait Gallery.

Please contact to confirm your participation.