Featured Events

All events and programs are held virtually unless otherwise noted due to COVID-19. Please check each event listing for more details. 

For more information on the Portrait Gallery’s remote programs and exhibitions, explore the museum's “Visit at Home” page.

Prev September 2020 Next

Tue Sep 1
Time Event Category
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM IDENTIFY: Lee Mingwei and Birita Poulsen with Leslie Ureña Performances, Webcasts & Online
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Virtual Writing Hour with the National Portrait Gallery Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Wed Sep 2
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Introducing... Pedro Martínez Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Thu Sep 3
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Drawn to Figures Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Fri Sep 4
Time Event Category
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Open Studio Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Tue Sep 8
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Young Portrait Explorers- Marisol Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Wed Sep 9
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Introducing... Pedro Martínez Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Thu Sep 10
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Drawn to Figures Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Fri Sep 11
Time Event Category
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Open Studio Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Tue Sep 15
Time Event Category
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Virtual Writing Hour with the National Portrait Gallery Webcasts & Online, Workshops
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM The Interiority of Belonging: Miki Hayakawa's Portraits Lectures & Discussions, Webcasts & Online
Wed Sep 16
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Introducing... Sal Castro Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM Virtual Teacher Workshop | Use Portraits to Inspire Student Writing about Current Events: Session I Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Thu Sep 17
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Drawn to Figures Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Fri Sep 18
Time Event Category
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Open Studio Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Tue Sep 22
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Young Portrait Explorers- Selena Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Virtual Writing Hour with the National Portrait Gallery Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Wed Sep 23
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Introducing... Dolores Huerta Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM Virtual Teacher Workshop | Use Portraits to Inspire Student Writing about Current Events: Session II Webcasts & Online, Workshops
Thu Sep 24
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Drawn to Figures Webcasts & Online, Workshops
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Virtual Portrait Signs Lectures & Discussions, Webcasts & Online
Fri Sep 25
Time Event Category
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM Open Studio Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
Tue Sep 29
Time Event Category
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Virtual Writing Hour with the National Portrait Gallery Webcasts & Online, Workshops
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM Margaret of Austria, Queen of Spain: Power, Femininity, and Portraiture in the Court of Felipe III Lectures & Discussions, Webcasts & Online
Wed Sep 30
Time Event Category
11:00 AM Introducing... Sandra Cisneros Kids & Families, Webcasts & Online
5:00 PM - 6:30 PM Let's Talk About It: Understanding Race and Culture Through Portraiture and Writing Webcasts & Online, Workshops

Meet Americans. Discover Yourself.