Featured Events

All events are held at the Donald W. Reynolds Center for American Art and Portraiture, located at Eighth and F streets N.W., Washington, D.C. Special events and programs may require reservations or tickets. Please check the events listings for more information.

For questions, call (202) 633-1000. The National Portrait Gallery is open every day from 11:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. All events and programs are free unless otherwise noted.

Prev November 2019 Next

Fri Nov 1
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Conversation Circles Gallery Talks & Tours
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
12:00 PM - 1:15 PM Beyond the Music: A Musical Geography of Mexico Kids & Families, Performances
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM Open Studio Fridays- Illustrating Skulls Workshops
Sat Nov 2
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Pocahontas Kids & Families
5:00 PM - 8:30 PM Día de los Muertos Celebration After Five, Celebrations
Sun Nov 3
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Pocahontas Kids & Families
Tue Nov 5
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
5:30 PM - 6:30 PM Portraiture 101 Gallery Talks & Tours
Wed Nov 6
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Hands Workshops
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Thu Nov 7
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
12:30 PM In Focus: Chief Joseph Gallery Talks & Tours
5:30 PM In Focus: Chief Joseph Gallery Talks & Tours
Fri Nov 8
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Conversation Circles Gallery Talks & Tours
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM Open Studio Fridays Workshops
Sat Nov 9
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Hands Workshops
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Sequoyah Kids & Families
Sun Nov 10
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Sequoyah Kids & Families
Tue Nov 12
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
2:00 PM - 3:30 PM See Me at the Portrait Gallery Gallery Talks & Tours
Wed Nov 13
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Feet Workshops
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Thu Nov 14
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
2:00 PM Portrait Insight Gallery Talks & Tours
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM Women of Color: The Power of Protest Lectures & Discussions, Webcasts & Online
Fri Nov 15
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Conversation Circles Gallery Talks & Tours
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM Open Studio Fridays- Thumb Print Portraits Workshops
Sat Nov 16
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM Drawn to Figures: How to Draw Feet Workshops
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
12:00 PM Portrait Insight Gallery Talks & Tours
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM CANCELED- Portrait Story Days: Chief Joseph Kids & Families
Sun Nov 17
Time Event Category
11:45 AM CANCELED- Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM CANCELED- Portrait Story Days: Chief Joseph Kids & Families
Mon Nov 18
Time Event Category
10:30 AM - 11:30 AM Young Portrait Explorers: American Indian Heritage Month Kids & Families
Tue Nov 19
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM Art AfterWords: A Book Discussion Lectures & Discussions
Wed Nov 20
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Thu Nov 21
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Fri Nov 22
Time Event Category
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM Conversation Circles Gallery Talks & Tours
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM Open Studio Fridays- Cornucopia Still Life Illustration Workshops
Sat Nov 23
Time Event Category
9:30 AM - 11:30 AM Morning with the Girl Scouts Kids & Families
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Sitting Bull Kids & Families
Sun Nov 24
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Sitting Bull Kids & Families
Mon Nov 25
Time Event Category
10:30 AM - 11:30 AM Young Portrait Explorers: American Indian Heritage Month Kids & Families
Tue Nov 26
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Wed Nov 27
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Thu Nov 28
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
Fri Nov 29
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 5:00 PM CANCELED - Open Studio Fridays Workshops
Sat Nov 30
Time Event Category
11:45 AM Story Time in our Explore! Family Space Kids & Families
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM Portrait Story Days: Zitkala-Ša Kids & Families

Meet Americans. Discover Yourself.